Coverbild Todtnauberg von Hans-Peter Kunisch, ISBN-978-3-423-28229-1
sample translation

Todtnauberg

The Improbable Encounter of Paul Celan and Martin Heidegger
Hardcover
24,00 EURO
E-Book
16,99 EURO

The poet and the philosopher. Death Fugues and Black Books – The Meeting in Todtnauberg

On July 25, 1967, Holocaust survivor Paul Celan and antisemitic philosopher Martin Heidegger met each other. Two other meetings followed. This is the fascinating story of the two poets and philosophers, and their secretive meeting, which qualifies as an extraordinary event in German intellectual history.

What connected the most influential German philosopher of the twentieth century and the stellar post-war poet, who dedicated one of his most important poems, “Todtnauberg,” to this meeting?

Armed with new research and sources, Hans-Peter Kunisch has crafted a tight, lively and vibrant account. None of us has ever felt this close to Paul Celan and Martin Heidegger.

  • Written by a renowned expert regarding German literature and philosophy
  • Told for the first time in book form: the histories of Celan and Heidegger with special focus on their relationship - researched in previously unknown primary sources and through conversations with the last living witnesses of this meeting.
  • For readers of Wolfram Eilenberger, Volker Weidermann and Rüdiger Safranski
VERSANDKOSTENFREI BESTELLEN
24,00
Sofort lieferbar
Lieferung in 2-3 Werktagen
ODER BEI EINEM UNSERER PARTNER BESTELLEN
Details
352 pages, ISBN 978-3-423-28229-1
About the author
Portrait des Autors Hans-Peter Kunisch

Hans-Peter Kunisch

Hans-Peter Kunisch, born in Visp in 1962, completed degrees in German, theater studies and philosophy, and wrote his dissertation about Musil, Schnitzler and Kafka. After residing in Paris and Munich, he now lives in Berlin. He researched the meeting at Todtnauberg in archives located in Berlin, Marburg and Paris, and he interviewed the last living witnesses of this event. Hans-Peter Kunisch writes for Zeit, SZ, NZZ, WDR Radio, and Deutschlandfunk Kultur, as well as for Philosophie-Magazin.